Fear or Love?

Remember the age-old quote, “Is it better to feared or loved?”. Anyone who still thinks that fear or an autocratic leadership style is the best way to manage people has forgotten how trust between the staff and the supervisor feels.

In my early years in industry, I thought a stronger, more autocratic approach was the way to get results. The most important thing I learned from this approach was to ditch it immediately. Not only did that approach not work well, it didn’t reflect my natural personality. Both my staff and I felt uncomfortable with the level of tension in the workplace.

The entire opposite works best, I have found. Empowering and permitting generous autonomy allows employees to excel well beyond previous limits, and generates tremendous outcomes. Loosening the reins on your employees will create an element of trust and comfortability, and the best way to do that is learning more about the staff than just their job title. Understanding your people as humans helps disarm the natural tension that the chain of command creates and solidifies a line of communication that is needed for any successful business.

When the entire staff feels comfortable in the workplace, results will follow. Trust your staff, and they will give you that trust right back.

Leave a comment